Bleeding, an Ultrasound and Telling our Families

Three more days until I reach 12 weeks. Eight more days of my black & blue bruised butt being poked by that monster PIO needle. And six more months until these babies are due to arrive.

A couple weeks ago I had some massive bleeding. Bright red, soaking through two pads. The bleeding started an hour before my sister was scheduled to arrive from across the country. Mr. T and I had been looking forward to telling her our news in person, and then finally telling our families.

Our families know what we’ve gone through, and like us, didn’t expect we’d have the chance to have another child. So this announcement was going to be a big deal.

I decided not to tell my sister our news that night, hoping the bleeding would stop by the next morning. The next morning, the bleeding was still heavy. I could have gone in for an ultrasound, but I was afraid to confirm it was over before we even had a chance to celebrate these babies with our families. So instead, I put on a big smile, and told my sister the good news. She hugged us and cried- unlike me, she’s not one who is prone to tears- so I knew she knew what this meant for us. And seeing her eyes widen when she heard we had not one but two babies on the way was the best.

We went on the tell our parents and grandparents, despite the continued bleeding that weekend. Loving their responses- my grandfather almost falling off his chair when he heard we were having twins.

The bleeding slowed and stopped by Sunday. Then on Monday, I went in for the ultrasound. My sister came with me. Mr. T was supposed to meet me at the doctor’s office, but got caught in a meeting at work. So as I lay down on the ultrasound table, my sister held my hand instead. I clutched her hand as tightly as I always do Mr. T’s, trying to stay calm, so glad that at least my sister was there.

As soon as the ultrasound flickered to life on the screen, the technician was telling me I could breath- that she could see both babies’ heartbeats. She zoomed in on Baby A first, who was measuring a day ahead of schedule now, with a strong heartbeat of 178. Baby was moving all around, waving tiny hands and kicking tiny feet. My sister and the technician and I all oohed and aahhed over the cuteness.

Then she turned the camera to Baby B. Baby B who had measured almost a week behind during our early ultrasounds. But who had slowly and surely caught up, and was now only one day behind the estimated due date and had a strong heartbeat of over 170. Baby B was just as lively, kicking and bouncing around next to Baby A.

Two babies. Both growing strong. No sign of what was causing the massive bleeding at all.

Just about every day, Mr. T and I look at each other in wonder, amazed this is happening.  While my excitement is still tempered by worry, his joy is infectious. He was a lonely only child growing up, and always wanted three kids himself. But it seemed too much to dream when we thought we might not be able to have children at all.

Amazing.

 

 

 

 

 

Tagged: , ,

8 thoughts on “Bleeding, an Ultrasound and Telling our Families

  1. cowellkids April 7, 2014 at 7:48 am Reply

    ❤ Amazing is right! ❤

    • Jess April 7, 2014 at 9:00 am Reply

      Thank you! I’m still in shock that this is really happening!

  2. jaclyn April 7, 2014 at 8:01 am Reply

    I am so extremely happy for you!!! xoxoxoxo

    • Jess April 7, 2014 at 8:59 am Reply

      Thank you, my friend!

  3. journey2dfuture April 8, 2014 at 1:04 am Reply

    Amazing update 🙂 Wishing you a healthy 6 months. x x

    • Jess April 9, 2014 at 8:55 pm Reply

      Thanks so much! Hopefully not a day sooner than six months!

  4. maternalstateofmind April 8, 2014 at 9:57 am Reply

    Why do scary things like that have to happen after all infertility has already put us through!? Im sooo happy to hear that everything is still going well. Twins…it’s just amazing!

    • Jess April 9, 2014 at 8:56 pm Reply

      I know, right? So true. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

