Beta Day and a Valentine’s Day Miracle

photo (8)

The second test- a positive!

I’ve always loved Valentine’s Day- even though I was single for most of them up until I met my husband. Growing up, my parents made a big deal about it- with a special breakfast on valentine’s day morning little thoughtful gifts and homemade cards. I felt very loved- which carried me a long way through the teen years when all the other girls are getting roses delivered in class, and I was the shy quiet girl no one noticed.

With all those cumulative good feelings from Valentine’s day over the year, having my beta test today seemed like a happy thing. Either way, I knew I’d get a little sweet card and gift from my parents (yes, even in my late 30’s.) Mr. T isn’t big on Valentine’s day- but he usually finds a way to be sweet too.

Last night was sad. After the brown spotting and feeling especially “well”- not tired or sick or anything good- I was sure it was over. This morning, without any hope at all- I took a dollar store pregnancy test. I brought it in to show T and he hugged me and said that it looked negative. I saw a ghost line- of the baby I wouldn’t know.

An hour late, I finally dragged myself to clinic for my blood test. I fought back the tears, telling the nurse I had tested that morning and that it didn’t look like it would be a happy Valentine’s Day for me. She tried to be upbeat: “Well, you never know- it could have been a bad test.”

Driving home I couldn’t help but wonder if there was even a tiny chance she might be right. It was after all a dollar store test. I stopped at the grocery store to pick up another test- feeling silly about it, but figured this would be the last chance I’d ever have a reason to buy one anyway.

Again, without much hope, I took the test. And amazingly, the line wasn’t even faint- but a strong positive! Now the question remained- would my beta be strong enough?

The nurse just called. Beta is 440. I still can’t believe it. She emphasized that for 16 days post “ovulation”- (never mind the incredible fact that I “ovulated” 4 years ago for this pregnancy) this was a very good number.

I’m amazed and so grateful. And promise myself to enjoy each minute- hopefully for nine more months. And to never again trust a dollar store test.

Next beta is Tuesday. I’ll keep you all posted. Happy Valentine’s Day to you all!

 

8 thoughts on “Beta Day and a Valentine’s Day Miracle

  1. itsonitswaytoday February 14, 2014 at 4:32 pm Reply

    I knew it! Yaaaaaaaa!!!!!!! Congrats!!

  2. maternalstateofmind February 14, 2014 at 4:41 pm Reply

    Couldn’t be happier for you!!! Look forward to following you along this journey.

  3. Lisette February 14, 2014 at 8:48 pm Reply

    Woop woop! So hopeful for you xx

    • Jess February 14, 2014 at 10:01 pm Reply

      Thank you!

  4. journey2dfuture February 15, 2014 at 12:01 am Reply

    Yay! !!! Huge Huge Huge congratulations! What an amazing Valentine’s x wishing you all the best! ! And the brown spotting was more than likely implantation bleeding 😉 that can be a good thing. Its burrowed its little self deep nice and snug x

    • Jess February 15, 2014 at 1:45 pm Reply

      Thank you! I had thought it was too late for implantation bleeding- but just goes to show you never know!

  5. findmynewnormal February 15, 2014 at 12:49 am Reply

    So happy for you!

    • Jess February 15, 2014 at 1:46 pm Reply

      Thanks so much! So nice to have your support through the years!

Leave a Reply

