The Two Week Wait in Review- Test Tomorrow

The nice thing about a Day 6 transfer is that the wait is only 10 days instead of two weeks. Here’s the rundown about what went down these past nine days:

February 4, 2014: Transfer day: The happiest, most hopeful day of the whole grueling IVF process. If you get to the clinic and your feet are up in the stirrups, there should be an embryo or two waiting. If those embryos have endured six days in a petri dish and four years frozen and survived the thaw to tell the tale, that’s a reason to celebrate. Going home after transfer with the directive to rest and do nothing is also a reason to celebrate. (I never ever just spend a whole day doing nothing but lounging.) It’s a good day.

February 5: Day 1 post transfer: Too early for symptoms, so it’s still a hopeful happy day. I had the best acupuncture visit ever today- so relaxed and feeling so good.

February 6 Day 2: Starting to feel some “symptoms” even if imaginary. Peeing more often. Slightly queasy in just a vague seasick way. So hungry and so so tired. Feeling good about not feeling so good! This might actually work!

February 7: Day 3: “symptoms” subside. Despair.

February 8: Day 4: “symptoms” back! Hopeful again!

February 9: Day 5: “symptoms” gone. Despair.

February 10: Day 6: No symptoms. Despair makes way for resignation.

February 11: Day 7: symptoms back. Queasy again. Hopeful again.

February 12: Day 8: Feeling hopeful today. I spend the day reading everything I can about what baby might be doing at 4 weeks. And imagining being pregnant- at least for two more days until the test.

February 13: Day 9: Feels and looks like early AF with brown spotting and AF cramps. Tears. Despair. Call clinic and they don’t sound reassuring- they offer to do the test one day early if I want. I tell them I’ll think about it. Decide I’d rather live with a glimmer of hope for one more day than to know for sure it’s over. So now I need to pack 9 months of expectant pregnancy into this one day today. Because when this is over, the shop is closed. That’s it. Not even a 0000001% chance that I’ll ever get pregnant on my own, and our IVF journey is over.

February 14: Day 10: Test day. I’ll take the home pregnancy test in the morning and then will go to the clinic to get the official test. I’ll update you all tomorrow.

Tagged: , , ,

6 thoughts on “The Two Week Wait in Review- Test Tomorrow

  1. Fox February 13, 2014 at 11:04 am Reply

    Sad…hopeful…Whatever, I will be stalking your feed tomorrow morning so I can be there to hold your hand either way.

    • Jess February 13, 2014 at 2:00 pm Reply

      Thanks so much. It means a lot to know you are there to hold my hand. We’ve told a few friends in real life and now I wish I hadn’t- they try and understand, but it’s hard.

  2. itsonitswaytoday February 13, 2014 at 1:35 pm Reply

    Just relax and get a good night’s sleep. I had terrible cramps around that time.

    • Jess February 13, 2014 at 2:00 pm Reply

      Thank you for the hope. That helps to hear.

  3. Dipitie February 13, 2014 at 3:03 pm Reply

    I have my fingers crossed for you xoxoxo will be stalking you as much as I can while at work tomorrow. I hope you have the day off to celebrate or mourn – regardless, you deserve to not deal with your craptastic boss ❤

    • Jess February 13, 2014 at 8:31 pm Reply

      Thank you. The good news is that I work from home. So I can cry and shout obscenities alone for the most part.

Leave a Reply

