Polycystic Ovary Syndrome and A Father’s Gift

Thanks to her father's gift, Erin's miracle is here.

Thanks to her father’s gift, Erin’s miracle is here.

This is a beautiful story about one father’s love for his daughter, and his generous gift after she struggled for years with her a diagnosis of Polycystic Ovary Syndrome.

Sending a special father’s day wish to Erin’s father- and to all those fathers out there who have supported their daughters (and sons) struggling with infertility- as well as to all the fathers-in-waiting.
This is Erin’s story:
Although I always knew that I wanted to be a wife and a mom, I hid my desire pretty well.  But in reality I tried to get pregnant on my wedding night.  Based on my predictably unpredictable cycle, I took birth control pills to change my cycle and ovulate on my wedding night.  Two weeks later I was late and made my husband go to a drug store in Paris and buy a home pregnancy test…and that was the first test of many that I failed every month for the next four years.
After a year and a half of trying to get pregnant, but pretending to everybody around me that I didn’t want children because “I prefer shoes,” I went to my OB/GYN for a pap and mentioned that we were going to start to try and get pregnant. I told her my cycle was always between 26-32 days and I was supposed to be ovulating that night.  She said, “well lets do sonogram to make sure.” And what I saw was a string of pearls, the tell tale sign of Polycystic Ovary Syndrome (PCOS).  I was so ignorant about infertility I thought, ok this will can be easily solved.  We did two cycle of the OB/GYN drug of choice, Clomid and when those failed she sent us to our first Reproductive Endocrinologist (RE).

At our first appointment at that fertility clinic I remember being optimistic and giddy…in my naivety I felt like I was going to be pregnant in no time, especially when he looked at my chart and said…”this is a simple case.”  Well three

Interuterine Inseminations (IUIs) later and the only thing getting fat was my chart, not my uterus.  As a result of my frustration and desperation I remember storming into his office and demanding my file in order to switch to another fertility clinic. One where a colleague of mine whose chances for conception were “much worse than mine” had gotten pregnant with twins with IVF 1.0.  He also thought my case would be a simple one…


I was so frustrated when I failed the pregnancy test of IUI 4 with my new miracle doctor.  When we failed to get pregnant, he suggested a laparoscopic endometriosis operation.  He was so excited when he told me at the recovery room that he found enough evidence to show why my previous IUIs had failed.  And so, during my next cycle we went for IUI 6.

I started to cry when I found out I was pregnant…but our joy only lasted 2 days.  My beta was not doubling.  I remember crying and lashing out at God.  Why me?  Why us?  What had I done to deserve this pain and suffering?  I remember screaming and punching my abdominal area until I  bruised.  I remember wanting to sleep off the pain and numbing myself with Tylenol PM. And I also remember the pain from the Methotrexate.  But my RE was still optimistic that I could get pregnant.
And so we ventured again into IUI world again with numbers 7 and 8.  The last IUI was horrible. During that cycle I produced 8 follicles…I thought I would be the new octomom.  My RE even spoke to us about the possibility of an embryo reduction.  But I again failed the test, on December 24 nonetheless.  My husband and I could not stop crying.  I had lost all faith.  I hated life and hated God.  But my neighbor’s mom came to my home a couple of weeks later; she got on her knees and begged God not to let her down, for she knew he was a miracle maker and I was to be his next miracle.
So now all we had left was a one shot deal at an In Vitro Fertilization (IVF).  My father, who had seen all of our pain and suffering, and who at that time had just survived an 18 hour liver cancer operation told me that he would give us the money for the IVF.  It was  a year ago that we embarked on the IVF odyssey.  I had alarms set for all of my shots and diligently followed the doctor’s instructions.  I jokingly would say a la Charlie Sheen: “I’m STIMMING.”  I prayed and prayed, and prayed some more.

On the night before my scheduled
BETA (blood pregnancy test) I told my husband I would was not going to test. But when I woke up at 3 am with a need to pee, I said, “ok, here goes nothing” and used an old home pregnancy test. After debating whether or not to look at it, I saw two lines!!!!! OMG, OMG, I finally passed the test.  I woke up my husband and we got dressed to go to the lab.  We were the first ones there and by mid day we got the call, BETA was over 300.  I was PREGNANT!!!!

My pregnancy was hard and I was on bedrest for over 20 weeks because of an incompetent cervix.  But on February 5, 2013, my miracle baby girl was born.  Today I look back as I write my story and thank God for not letting me stop, not giving up, and my father.

Today my father lies in a bed a few feet from me with stage iv cancer.  He will be with God soon, but he met his gift of life.  The best thing is that my daughter’s embryo was conceived the same day of my Dad’s birthday.  For ever and ever May 18th means hope and life. I hope that whomever reads my journey be filled with love and hope….

Editor’s Note: Erin’s father passed away the day this post was published. Sending her and her family love at this sad time.
You can contact Erin at @disabledEggs
Tagged: , ,

3 thoughts on “Polycystic Ovary Syndrome and A Father’s Gift

  1. charley ndidi November 23, 2013 at 1:18 pm Reply

    I am 31, and my husband is almost 38. We have been TTC for 5years. I was diagnosed with PCOS in February of 2011. We have tried Clomid, Femara, injections and 2 IUI’s all with little luck, so i saw online about a spiritual healer name ashra and i just had the mind set that there was not such thing as spiritual healer and pregnancy spell and cleanse , but i was out of options and i tried this online spell caster and requested for this spiritual healing and pregnancy spell and to my greatest surprise within the 2month i became pregnant and the doctor said it is a miracle they could not find anything as pcos or infertility in me, to clear the doubts of others out there who had the mind set of mine that there was no such thing as spiritual healing and pregnancy spell should think again, am a living testimony of the miracle and blessing of ashra spells , there is never any harm in trying , for those going through similar situation as i was can contact ashra on email : ashraspelltemple@gmail.com, i pray baby dust on you all

    Charley ,

  2. Pregnancy Miracle Review February 14, 2014 at 6:33 am Reply

    I’ll immediately clutch your rss as I can not to find your email subscription link or e-newsletter service.
    Do you have any? Please let me know in order that I may subscribe.
    Thanks.

    • Jess February 17, 2014 at 8:47 pm Reply

      You can subscribe on the top right hand side of the homepage if you enter your email address there. Thanks so much for your interest in my blog!

Leave a Reply

