I’m Still Here

Life has been very full over the past few months, between work squeezing my time before my leave and all the joys of preparing for baby. Since it’s highly unlikely I’ll ever be pregnant again, I’ve been trying to live in the moment and treasure every single day of this pregnancy.

And it’s been amazing.  If ever a pregnant woman “glowed,” that would be me- I’m just so incredibly happy for this gift that’s growing and kicking and getting ready to make (his or her) appearance.

Of course I still worry. Baby has quiet days that have me counting kicks and ready to race to the hospital- and other days when baby has hiccups 3 times a day and I worry if that’s normal.  It was so hard to get to this point that I expected everything about pregnancy to be hard too- but it’s gone so smoothly, other than the fact that I found out this week I’m a Group B Strep (GBS) carrier so I’ll have to be on antibiotics when I go into labor to prevent baby from getting the bacteria.

In his naturally optimistic way that got me through our long road to pregnancy, Mr. T has convinced me that being a GBS carrier is actually a good thing. That either way, we were bound to be worried new parents, but now the professionals will monitor baby even more closely. I hope he’s right, but I wish I didn’t have another reason to worry.

A bachelor neighbor recently asked me if I wake up in the middle of the night, terrified about the pain of labor. It hadn’t really occurred to me. I’m just so focused on getting baby safely into this world, holding a healthy baby in my arms- when I picture that, I find myself so overwhelmed with happiness, hope and longing that it’s all I can do to hold back the tears.

I’m still working full-time up until the end of next week (assuming baby doesn’t arrive before then) but I hope to have more time to check in with you all soon. And I’ll definitely share news about baby’s arrival.

 

10 thoughts on “I’m Still Here

  1. kristelklearly December 17, 2011 at 12:46 pm Reply

    I’d probably be the same exact way with my pregnancy (if God blesses me), so I don’t blame you a bit! Enjoy it as much as possible! 🙂

  2. Kelley December 17, 2011 at 1:37 pm Reply

    So glad to see things are well and that life has just been busy! Heading into the final countdown….can’t imagine how excited you are!!

  3. infertilitysrd December 17, 2011 at 5:41 pm Reply

    I’m so excited for you and glad to hear all is well! I’m glad you’ve been able to relish every moment of this pregnancy 🙂 Blessings!

  4. Kristina Kent December 17, 2011 at 6:01 pm Reply

    It’s so good to hear from you! Glad you’re doing well. And don’t worry about labor. After all you’ve been through, you’ll do just fine 😉

  5. missohkay December 18, 2011 at 5:58 am Reply

    Glad everything is fine with you. I get worried when people disappear for awhile 🙂 Good luck these next few weeks – can’t wait to hear about your little one’s happy arrival into the world!

  6. unfertilized December 18, 2011 at 7:17 am Reply

    Nice to read your post! I’m glad everything’s going well, and can’t wait to hear about your little one’s arrival.

  7. Single Mom To Be (@singlemom2b) December 18, 2011 at 6:19 pm Reply

    I can’t believe it’s nearly time!! I’m thinking about you and wishing you a wonderful delivery for your beautiful, healthy baby!!

  8. @EndoJourney December 19, 2011 at 9:16 am Reply

    Great to hear from you and glad everything’s going well! Can’t wait to hear about your baby’s arrival! 🙂

  9. SassyNtubeless December 19, 2011 at 1:12 pm Reply

    Soon well both have our lil miracles in our arms 🙂 can’t wait to see pics of your lil one when he/she arrives 🙂 were almost there!!!

  10. Jess December 20, 2011 at 10:26 pm Reply

    Thank you all- you are so so sweet to keep checking on me. I’m sorry I haven’t been there for you all lately. I’ll try to be better!

Leave a Reply

