To Pee or Not to Pee (on the stick): That is the Question.

To Pee or not to Pee. What will it be?

There are two types of IVFers: those who POAS (pee on a stick, also known as a home pregnancy test), and those who don’t.

The professionals in charge like to remind us that the “trigger” shot taken right before retrieval stays in the blood system for up to 14 days (although there are different takes on this- it could be more or less depending on the drug.) So the IVF doctors and nurses all emphatically tell you not to take a home pregnancy test. They say too often people either get excited about a false positive or even worse, so distraught about a false negative that they stop taking their Progesterone.

For those of us in the immaculate conception club, we all know that in the early stages, it’s not always a simple pink or blue line, a simple yes or no on a pregnancy test. You can be a little bit pregnant. You may have been technically “pregnant” when the embryo went in, but in the days since that point the embryo may be thriving or dying. So that first “beta” gives a number, and then if that number doubles in 48 hours, the professionals may finally use the word “pregnant” to describe your state. However, if that beta number does not go up, even if the pregnancy test says “positive,” it’s not a positive situation.

I’ve never been a POASer. Although it’s tempting, I know I wouldn’t believe it if it was positive anyway, and if it was negative, taking those PIO (progesterone in oil) shots in the ass without probable cause would be even more painful.

Still, the temptation increases day by day; very similar in fact to the experience of needing to pee really badly. The closer you get the restroom, the more your bladder just doesn’t want to hold out. The closer I get to test day, the more tempting it becomes.

Since I’m a hardened veteran now, having experienced the joy of a positive test on both IVF 1.0 and IVF 2.0, I’m both more and less tempted by the stick. My routine is always the same: I wait until the morning of the test, see the result and head to the blood test knowing (in both cases so far) that I’m pregnant- at least for that day.

But in the meantime, I drive my husband crazy asking him if my boobs look bigger (he doesn’t mind considering that question at least) and debating if my symptoms are real or progesterone induced. One moment I’ll be hopeful- the next I’m not. This is what IVF is all about. Fun times.

So Tuesday morning is POAS day. Mr. T will get the official test result call from the clinic that afternoon. He’s under strict orders not to tell me what the numbers are (if positive) so I won’t obsess about what they mean and their doubling rates. My only goal right now is to maintain a shred of sanity, no matter what the results.

My dream? Just to go to sleep and wake up when ALL the two week waits are over, with my baby in my arms.

Please say a little wish or prayer for me and my beta sisters: @sassyNtubeless @coopke @madampumpkin@ivfierce and @kristina_kent. April 26th will be a big day for  us all.

Tagged: , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “To Pee or Not to Pee (on the stick): That is the Question.

  1. Serendipitie April 23, 2011 at 8:50 am Reply

    In IVF #1, I was a pee-er and I somewhat regret it. I had started spotting, and even though it could have been the crinone, I was somewhat desperate to get a positive test to alleviate my worry. Of course it was negative, and I then spent the next three days until beta crying and being generally morose until my RE called and confirmed what I already knew in my heart. I vowed never to pee before the beta again. Still sending you stickybaby thoughts! xoxo

  2. babymakingdiary April 23, 2011 at 9:06 am Reply

    Praying tues brings good news and that it stays that way. Sending hope & strength for these last few days xx

    • Jess April 23, 2011 at 10:32 am Reply

      Thank you so much! I can use all the hope & strength I can get. xxx

  3. fateofthechocolatechipcookies April 23, 2011 at 8:38 pm Reply

    sending you lots of hope and baby dust! I hope you get to bring home a baby!!

  4. Moon April 24, 2011 at 1:30 pm Reply

    Thinking of you Jess & Mr T, I send hope from the bottom of my heart that this is the one.
    Stay strong xx

  5. unfertilized April 24, 2011 at 11:41 pm Reply

    Hi Jess,

    I can’t believe it’s almost beta day! Good luck on Tuesday. By the way, I think you have a great system in place for getting the results from the clinic.

  6. maternalmind May 16, 2013 at 12:01 pm Reply

    You’re incredible for waiting! I wish you the best of luck on Tuesday!

    And wow, 2 successes already!? That’s the kind of promising success stories I like to hear!

    • Jess May 17, 2013 at 1:07 pm Reply

      Thank you! For me, the home pregnancy tests are more torture than the waiting. It’s amazing to read this back now- it was 2 years ago.. unfortunately my other positive pregnancy tests ended in miscarriages, but my story has a wonderfully happy ending in the present. I hope with all my heart that you will get to yours soon too.

      • maternalmind May 17, 2013 at 1:34 pm

        Omg, I just cried (literally cried) when I read your timeline and Mr. T announced that it was a girl! Yay! 🙂 So these are your last 2 frosties then?

        Im 5 weeks today. My first u/s is at 6 1/2 weeks. Im terrified. Did they ever figure out a reason for your m/c’s?

        Ill be thinking of you Tuesday!

      • Jess May 20, 2013 at 8:42 pm

        It was an incredible moment, hearing that I had a daughter. Still makes me teary too. 🙂 Yes, I have just two frosties left- I’m not sure when we will do our FET. It’s scary thinking that this will be it for us. Especially since they never figured out the reasons for our miscarriages.

        So happy for your happy news! Will be looking forward to your update from your first ultrasound!

Leave a Reply

