Happy Birthday, Eggs!

Happy Birthday, little Eggies! I'm so glad you are here!

Egg retrieval is a tiny bit what I imagine it must be like to prepare to give birth. You wait and wait for that day, fearing at times it may never happen- so excited, nervous and full of hope when it finally does.

The night before retrieval, I g0t everything ready and packed my bag for the hospital. My “overnight bag” (though the procedure is less than an hour) contains my best cozy socks, a book to keep my mind occupied while waiting, comfy sweatpants to wear home- and a maxi pad so I don’t have to use the clinic’s boat-sized pads after the procedure.

And, just as I’d expect Mr. T to do when taking me to the hospital to give birth one day, we get lost on the way. The clinic is only two miles away, but we never drive there since the streetcar by our house goes there directly. Driving to the clinic requires navigating a maze of highways and and one way streets and dead-ends.  So of course, Mr. T took a wrong turn somewhere and although we could see the tower of our hospital from the other side of the highway, I was beginning to fear that my eggs would jump ship before we got there.

The same thing happened for IVF 1.0 retrieval day last year- you’d think he’d learn to admit we need the GPS for this trip, right? I successfully kept those thoughts to myself, just sweetly reminding him of the critical timing of this procedure.

Fortunately for Mr. T, me, and our potential babies- we got there on time.

By now my nerves had kicked in, so I was ready to get sedated. My clinic doesn’t put patients all the way under, which caused some distress when I discovered this moments before IVF 1.0 retrieval.

“What do you mean you are going to cut into my vagina while I’m still awake?!”

But now that I know the routine, I actually prefer to be semi-conscious. With the warm narcotics running through my veins, I close my eyes and pretend I’m lying on a beach. In my dream, and in real life, Mr. T. holds my hand and watches the ultrasound screen as Dr. IVF retrieves the eggs one by one from my follicles.

It doesn’t take long. I can’t tell if my sense of time is off because of the drugs, but it seems like it’s all over in less than 5 minutes. What if they didn’t find anything? I’m afraid to ask.

Please let there be some eggs.

“14 eggs!” Dr. IVF announces.

Now it’s up to the Powers That Be, the Embryologist and Mr. T’s thawed-out sperm to do their best by those eggs. Conception of our future baby could be happening any moment.

I’ll get the call tomorrow for the fertilization report, and depending on their grades an numbers, we’ll have transfer either on Tuesday, Thursday or Friday. In the meantime, I’m enjoying resting in bed while Mr. T makes me tomato soup and grilled cheese.

I’m drugged, happy and hopeful. I know my little eggs have a long long way to go, but today, I can relax. Today I gave birth to half my potential babies to be.

Also sending out positive thoughts do my dear friend @coopke who had her retrieval the same time today.  Please oh please, let this be our turn now.

Tagged: , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Eggs!

  1. BreAnna April 9, 2011 at 8:38 pm Reply

    I am beyond excited for all your little eggs to be out and beginning their journey. I have so much hope for you. 🙂 Go little eggs, go!

  2. Brave IVF Girl April 9, 2011 at 9:25 pm Reply

    Congrats on 14 – wow! Hope you get a great fertilization report!

  3. sunnymama April 9, 2011 at 9:26 pm Reply

    Fantastic news and so happy and excited for you! 🙂 xxx

  4. unfertilized April 9, 2011 at 11:17 pm Reply

    So happy to hear everything went well! 14 eggies sounds like a great haul.

  5. wannabemommie April 10, 2011 at 12:18 am Reply

    How exciting!!! What a beautiful post!

  6. swimmingcircles April 10, 2011 at 4:51 am Reply

    I just have to tell you that I’ve lived this on the other side of the table as a man, and you need to know that the men involved get pretty competitive about the egg count too… it’s totally ridiculous. God bless you and your family – I wish the absolute best for you. My wife and I went through a living hell to the point that I wrote a book about it, in case anyone wants to hear how men think about this stuff: http://www.amazon.com/Swimming-Circles-Chase-Odyssey-ebook/dp/B004SC1NLQ/

  7. The Tao of Pig Pen April 10, 2011 at 5:43 am Reply

    Hang in there and best wishes

  8. moi April 10, 2011 at 8:09 am Reply

    I haven’t read the intire blog (yet) But it i really interesting to find that some things are so completelly different from the procedures that I am familliar with,. For instance, the birth control thing, I dont have the slightest idea why you had to do that. (Why did you?)

    It’s also quite interesting to read about the cultural differences in all of this I think. I have been living in Chicago for a little over a year so I do know the exist of course.

    Some how I also find it a bit saddening that so many of us have this experience of IVF or ICSI all over the world, and I guess in some parts of the world very few since this is a question for developped countries.

    I’ll keep on redaing!

    /moi – also known as kattstryparn on twitter

    (if one would use google translate for the word kattstryparn, it would be strange but it’s not as bad it as it seems)

  9. Vicky April 11, 2011 at 8:21 am Reply

    Congratulations on a successful retrieval, 14 is wonderful. Extremely excited for you and sending lots of positive thoughts to those eggs and sperm!!

    I was told I only have the option of light or heavy sedation for ER. I’m not sure what type of person would be happy with light sedation, heavier sounds just right- being awake but not too awake. Thanks for sharing the experience. I giggled over you guys getting lost, only because I can see it happening with my husband!

  10. myTTCstory April 11, 2011 at 1:09 pm Reply

    Congratulations Jess, 14 eggs is fantastic!! I like the feeling of being sedated too, it’s the calmest feeling we can expect during our TTC journeys!

    Glad your hubby is looking after you xx

  11. Moon April 11, 2011 at 1:39 pm Reply

    Congratulations Jess, 14 eggs is just fabulous! I hope you and Mr T are over the moon!!
    Keeping all my limbs crossed for you xx

Leave a Reply

