Trigger Time!

Trigger Time! The most hopeful day of an IVFer.

There’s a day in the life of an IVF patient when all is right with the world, when all those drugs finally pay off for a major high, when all possibilities are rosy and hopeful. It’s called Trigger Time.

No matter what comes later, Trigger Time is a day of hope.

Today we got our call. After talking to the clinic in our usual routine, Mr. T sent me an email with the instructions:

You are moving to retrieval.  Ovidril at 9pm tonight.

36 hours later on Saturday at 9am will be retrieval.  Check in at 8:30 am.  Front desk unmanned.

No more Menopur or Follistim or Gannirelx – yeah!

After dinner on Friday, before bed, needs to do an enema.  Nothing to eat or drink after midnight on Friday until after retrieval.

Shampoo / deodarant are fine to wear, but no perfume, cologne, or body lotion.  Comfortable clothes and something to keep your feet warm.

Calling in pain meds. Pick up tomorrow.

Love you!

Beautiful words to hear after waiting for so long to get to this point, after worrying about my high FSH, the fear of canceled insurance and cancelled cycles, after two weeks of twice daily and then three times daily injections. Never mind that the instructions include words such as “pain killers” and “enema.” Never mind the awkwardness of another woman giving my husband instructions about my enema.

(Ok, maybe I do mind that- a little. Weird, right?)

Whatever it takes. My baby’s egg could be just a few days away from meeting Mr. T’s frozen guys. Today we have hope, and it feels so good.

I’ll be back on Saturday to let you know how it goes. Thanks for all your thoughts and well wishes. Here’s to hope and happy trigger days for IVFers everywhere!

Tagged: , ,

12 thoughts on “Trigger Time!

  1. Brave IVF Girl April 8, 2011 at 5:27 am Reply

    Woohoo! Seems like it went fast, at least from over here on the couch. 🙂

    I have never heard of a clinic requesting an enema before a retrieval — that’s really surprising to me. I’m used to the fasting after midnight restriction, and no perfume/makeup/nailpolish. Weird.

    FX!

  2. hopingforrainbows April 8, 2011 at 9:58 am Reply

    Ive never heard of the enema for an ER either but I guess all clinics are different. But then again I am always awake during mine.
    Mr T is doing such a wonderful job. He should be very proud of himself.
    Goodluck for Saturday. Ill be thinking of you and eagerly awaiting an update.
    LilyTaj xx

    • Jess April 9, 2011 at 3:33 am Reply

      I found out the reason for the enema- it’s to clear things out so there aren’t any obstructions to finding all the eggs. Still gross, but at least it’s for a good cause- I don’t want them to miss a single one of those hard-won eggs!

  3. Moon April 8, 2011 at 3:51 pm Reply

    Yay, great news about the trigger, so excited for you!
    I love the updates from Mr T, he tells you just what you need to know, it’s great.
    Will keep everything crossed for you for lots of lovely eggies, good luck Jess
    Moon x

  4. unfertilized April 8, 2011 at 4:28 pm Reply

    Good luck Jess!! I’ll be thinking of you Sat morning.

  5. sunnymama April 8, 2011 at 5:49 pm Reply

    Thinking of you and sending lots of love and best wishes and *hope* 🙂 xx

  6. serendipitie April 8, 2011 at 5:57 pm Reply

    Hope hope HOPE!!

  7. Jess April 8, 2011 at 8:50 pm Reply

    Sending thoughts and prayers your way!!

  8. Jen April 9, 2011 at 1:33 am Reply

    I love the idea of having dh take those phone calls. I’ve been stressing out so much today that I decided to make a list of ways to destress…and now I have a new one! Thanks!

    You’ll be in my thoughts tomorrow!

    • Jess April 9, 2011 at 3:29 am Reply

      I’m glad I could help! It really has made a difference for me. Thanks for thinking of me!

  9. Jess April 9, 2011 at 3:34 am Reply

    Thanks for all the positive thoughts everyone! xxx

  10. missohkay April 9, 2011 at 1:59 pm Reply

    Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

