Grow and Bloom, Ovaries!

Flowers for my fertility challenged friends.

Flowers for my dear fertility challenged friends. Grow and bloom ovaries of the world! It's Spring!

I took this photo for my dear friend Sunny Mama, who started a “Sharing Hope- Spring Blooms” page.

To me, Sunshine at the Oregon coast is crazy hopeful!

Last weekend, my wise Mr. T decided to book a B&B at the coast to enjoy time together- knowing it wouldn’t be long before I turned back into stressed-out IVF Jess.

Ah, smart man.

So we packed our shots and headed to Cannon Beach, just an hour and a half from home.

It’s amazing how refreshing it can be to go away just for a night, to a place where someone makes your bed and makes you breakfast and you don’t see a pile of bills or laundry looking at you reproachfully. We felt younger, happier and healthier immediately. My mind and body so relaxed, surely this would rejuvenate my ovaries for the trials to come.

It was drizzling when we arrived at the coast, but by the time we had some clam chowder and checked into our hotel, the sun was making a valiant effort to come through. We walked through town and turned the corner to the beach. The sun beamed down on us benevolently, the daisies smiled at me, and in that moment- all was right with the world.

We drove back to Portland on Sunday through the drizzle, but I promised myself that I’d keep that zen from the daisies dancing in the sunshine, our walk on the beach breathing in that fresh salty air, our lazy morning sleeping in a bed we didn’t have to make.

Now, back in rainy Portland, it’s been a pretty dismal week. On Tuesday, after a lot of hunting around with Mr. Wandy, Dr. IVF only found four tiny follicles. Even more discouraging, my Estradiol was only 49.7; by Day 4, it should be close to 100.

Despite my pledge to be zen, I’ve been pouty and unhappy about all this. Luckily, IVF Jess gets a free pass from Mr. T to be a brat since she’s happy to blame the meds. (No such luck at work, since although my coworkers have met IVF Jess, they don’t know who she is or why.)

Tomorrow is another date with Mr. Wandy, and as I sit here and type I urge my follies to show him something special.

Grow and bloom, ovaries- we’ve got to make a few good eggs!

Tagged:

14 thoughts on “Grow and Bloom, Ovaries!

  1. Vicky April 1, 2011 at 8:30 am Reply

    Weekends away are such a blessing! Glad you managed to relax and enjoy yourselves.

    I can imagine the meds really mess with your emotions, give yourself room to pout if you need to. Sending you and your ovaries lots of positive, growing thoughts!

  2. serendipitie April 1, 2011 at 5:57 pm Reply

    Those little suckers better know what’s good for them and start sprouting! Looking forward to your update xoxo

    • Jess April 7, 2011 at 5:40 am Reply

      You told them and they listened up! Thanks!

  3. sunnymama April 1, 2011 at 7:56 pm Reply

    Oh the flowers and sunshine are beautiful. Thank you so much for sharing hope! 🙂 You and your follies are in my thoughts and hoping you have some good news after your date with Mr Wandy tomorrow. *hugs* xxx

    • Jess April 7, 2011 at 5:41 am Reply

      Thank you for starting this- it’s such a lovely idea. I’ll try and share more too. So many pretty flowers if it ever stops raining here!

  4. unfertilized April 1, 2011 at 8:16 pm Reply

    Beautiful picture! I love Cannon Beach – went down there a few year years ago. Sending you lots of positive thoughts for the scan tomorrow.

    • Jess April 7, 2011 at 5:40 am Reply

      Fun that you’ve been there too! It is a beautiful coastline. Thanks for thinking of me. xxx

  5. Brave IVF Girl April 1, 2011 at 9:29 pm Reply

    Hopefully they’ll be slow and steady growers and things will look better at your next visit. Sending good wishes and growing thoughts! *hugs*

    • Jess April 7, 2011 at 5:39 am Reply

      Thanks for keeping me in your thoughts- I think my follies are responding to everyone’s encouragement. 🙂

  6. hopingforrainbows April 4, 2011 at 2:40 am Reply

    What a wonderful DH you have there. Your weekend sounded lovely and I love your picture. Makes me want to go there.
    Sending lots of good vibes your way for your follies xx

    • Jess April 7, 2011 at 5:38 am Reply

      Oh come visit us one day! xxx

  7. Moon April 5, 2011 at 9:55 am Reply

    Aww your DH is fabulous, sounds like you had a great weekend away, just what you needed. I’m a bit late in posting my comment to your blog post but I know from twitter that your follies are going strong now, so happy for you!

    *grow follies grow*

    Moon x

    • Jess April 7, 2011 at 5:37 am Reply

      Thanks Moon! Hope we both get that perfect egg to make our babies this time!

  8. […] so long to get to this point, after worrying about my high FSH, the fear of canceled insurance and cancelled cycles, after two weeks of twice daily and then three times daily injections. Never mind that the […]

Leave a Reply

