Weekend Escape to “Bavaria of the Northwest”

Leavenworth, Washington

This weekend Mr. T and I took a much needed last-minute adventure.  We headed to Leavenworth, Washington- “the Bavaria of the Northwest,” 4.5 hours from our home in Portland.

Leavenworth was once a run down logging town. Then in the 1960’s, the citizens of Leavenworth came up with the idea of transforming it into a Bavarian Alpine town. With the backdrop of the Cascade mountain range and nearby vineyards and ski areas, it began to draw more tourists and today is a thriving little tourist town.

Mr. T and I spent a happy time of our lives living and working in Munich, Germany- so the rush of memories from the Bavarian food and scenery- even though some of it is kitschy and touristy- made for a fun mini adventure not too far from home.

I thought I’d share a few pictures:

Our cozy B&B: Hotel Alpen Rose

The view from our hotel room balcony. We were lucky to have clear blue skies and sunshine every day.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Our hotel was just a short walk from the town center.

Leavenworth Town Center and May Pole

Which was a good thing, because we took advantage of the many little wine tasting rooms throughout the town. For a very small tasting fee, each one serves generous tastings. I gave up my FSH regimen for the weekend and indulged. When I woke up the next morning I was surprised at how much wine we had bought. Oops.

Dusk in Leavenworth

We had dinner at an indoor Bavarian style beer hall, with Oompa band and all. I further indulged with a Radler (half light beer, half lemon-lime soda- really very good!)

Ompa Band at King Ludwig's

We somehow managed to get to the mountain the next morning and had a beautiful day of skiing.

Skiing at Steven's Pass

It’s hard to be down when you are so close to the sky on such a beautiful day. Of course, there are always reminders:

Most people would read this as "Baren Haus" (Bear House in German). Of course you all know how I read it!

Mr. T didn’t find this as funny as I did- but I knew you would all enjoy this. Despite the reminders, I felt happier and more relaxed than I have in a long time. Which makes me wonder: Which is worse for my FSH? Wine or stress?

Leavenworth, Washington

It’s easy to forget in the midst of infertility- but there really is a whole beautiful world going on out there.

5 thoughts on “Weekend Escape to “Bavaria of the Northwest”

  1. Moon February 22, 2011 at 3:06 pm Reply

    Sounds like you had a wonderful time Jess!
    Hope the wine was yummy 🙂

    • Jess February 22, 2011 at 3:51 pm Reply

      Oh it was! If only vacation lasted forever and wine was good for FSH. 🙂

  2. serendipitie February 23, 2011 at 5:27 pm Reply

    I wish wine was good for FSH too. But looks like fun!

  3. Jes T February 24, 2011 at 2:49 am Reply

    Hi Jess, I follow you on twitter and thought I’d check out your blog. I LOVE Leavenworth!!! I lived in Seattle for 11 yrs and went back there a few years ago for my BFF’s wedding – it was nestled in the mountains just out of Leavenworth. Look forward to following 🙂

  4. Jess February 25, 2011 at 2:46 am Reply

    Thanks! It’s such a beautiful little place. Just the kind of magical escape I needed. Thanks so much for following and reading.

Leave a Reply

