Self Medicating- a 10 Step Plan

Bottoms Up!

Ok, so I’m an overachiever. I was the kid in school who did ALL the extra-credit… and actually liked doing it.  It’s embarrassing, but I’m still that way.

For our first meeting with Dr. IVF, I prepared two pages of questions, tucked neatly into a new shiny binder full of “research.” If I asked the right questions, if I took notes, if I did everything I was supposed to, I’d get the prize I wanted, right? 

Well, one IVF cycle, one frozen cycle, four perfect embryos and two miscarriages later I’m starting to think that may not be the case.

Unless I’m just not doing enough…what if I could do EVEN MORE?

Of course Dr. IVF says that there’s nothing more I can do. But with all his 20 years of experience and fancy medical degrees, he must just be lazy. He doesn’t want to do the research- the very important research that I do- digging around on Google.

Plus, I need a plan while I wait for my next cycle in March. Lowering my FSH seems like a good goal.

So here’s my “Lower my FSH and Get a baby” plan:

  1. Drink a glass of wheatgrass every day. “Some people” (yes, on Google) say this can help lower FSH. And yes, it tastes even worse than it looks. I’d add it to a shake, but I don’t want to ruin the shake.
  2. Take more folic acid. It can’t hurt so why not?
  3. Get more sleep. Dr. IVF would agree. The problem is that I’m not good at that. Will try harder.
  4. Drink more water. Again, I think Dr. IVF would be ok with that one. After all, water is the source of life- I’ll drink to that.
  5. Eat more fruits and vegetables– especially spinach. I like spinach. I can do this. An apple a day, right?
  6. Acupuncture– Dr. IVF begrudgingly agrees this could help- though he says he can’t prove why. It’s expensive, but then again this whole process is. At least my insurance covers 10 visits. 
  7. Exercise more/ less. This is the hardest one. I’ve read any amount of exercise can adversely affect FSH. But then I’ve read others who say an hour of exercise a day can lower FSH. Why-oh-why can’t Dr. Google agree? My compromise is to give up my long 10+ mile runs and stick to just a few miles a day. 
  8. Drink less adult beverages. “Less” is relative. A glass of wine here and there can be healthy, right?
  9. Laugh more, stress less. Some days this is easier than others. Mr. T does a pretty good job helping me here. Getting 30 Rock and the Office cued up on Netflix for an extra dose.
  10. Everything else Dr. IVF tells me to do. He’s a pretty good doctor. I know he wants me to have a baby too.

At the end of the day, I’m willing to accept the fact that no amount of hard work and extra credit can solve this. I just want to know I tried my best for those sad frozen sperm waiting for their turn.

Am I missing anything? Let me know your best fertility “extra-credit” tips.

Not so yummy in my tummy. This better work.

Tagged: ,

4 thoughts on “Self Medicating- a 10 Step Plan

  1. liberationtheory January 23, 2011 at 9:45 pm Reply

    Ooooooh I have a ton more of things to try. I’m a serious over-achiever too and it doesn’t help that my wife is, even more so.

    Let me see some of the ones I remember
    1- Fermented plum balls (umeboshi)
    2- I’m now on some fish oil with cq10
    3- less caffeine (part of the more water part)
    4- I’ve tried the acupuncture too.
    5- fertility shrine (starting that one soon)
    6- recommended from a friend who studies herbs and such: http://www.womenfitness.net/conceiving_naturally.htm

    I’m sure there’s more but those are where I’m at now. If only it were guaranteed that if we worked hard at this, then we’d reap the benefits..

    • Jess January 27, 2011 at 2:20 am Reply

      Thanks so much for sharing these tips- I’ve never heard of fermented plum balls. Where do you get them and what do they do? Please tell!

  2. serendipitie February 16, 2011 at 1:12 am Reply

    The more I read your blog, the more I feel like we are like long lost twins! I am also doing stuff to try and improve egg quality, etc. I haven’t tried wheat grass in the long term, but I might give it a shot. Right now I’m on a PNV with DHA, Omega 3’s, EPO, Calcium and extra folic acid. I am eating organic and limiting meat to a few times a week, and for the most part, giving up alcohol. BTW if you love spinach you can make a smoothie with spinach and it doesn’t alter the taste. Looks disgusting though LOL

    • Jess February 16, 2011 at 3:30 pm Reply

      Thanks, all. I’m so sorry for my pity party. I was going to wait and think about this post overnight, but my emotional side won out. I know we have all been through these days, and your comments and support mean so much when I know you have been here and know the feeling too. I woke up this morning hoping it had been a bad dream. I’ve felt that way too many times over the past year.

      Serendipitie- thanks for the tips. I’m on the wheatgrass already and don’t know if that’s helping or hurting. I’m also trying to eat organically- I’m typically a healthy eater anyway. I’d do ANYTHING if I thought it would work.

      Thanks again, friends. I hate that you know this feeling of despair, but it helps to know I’m not alone. love to you all.

      Anyway, I’ll try to get my positive self back here soon.

Leave a Reply

